NASCAR Darlington

All the changes you need to know about upcoming NASCAR races

Share Via

NASCAR is set to resume its Cup Series on May 17 at Darlington after two-month hiatus. So, there are a few changes regarding the lining procedures and competition caution.  

As it is the first race after the pandemic halted the season, NASCAR states that “the lineup will be determined in part by a random draw for starting positions”.

According to the information from the NASCAR official website:

  • Positions 1-12 will be determined by a random draw from charter teams in those positions in team owner points
  • Positions 13-24: Random draw among charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 25-36: Random draw among charter teams in those positions in owner points
  • Positions 37-40 will be filled out by open, non-chartered teams in order of owner points

Here is the list of drivers in the order of positions:

Positions 1-12: Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Chase Elliott, Alex Bowman, Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Blaney, MattKenseth, Aric Almirola, Matt DiBenedetto, Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch

Positions 13-24: Clint Bowyer, Chris Buescher, Martin Truex Jr., Kurt Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Bubba Wallace, William Byron, Ryan Newman, Austin Dillon, Erik Jones, Cole Custer and Corey LaJoie

Positions 25-36: Ty Dillon, Tyler Reddick, John Hunter Nemechek, Michael McDowell, JJ Yeley, Brennan Poole, Reed Sorenson, Garrett Smithley, Christopher Bell, Ryan Preece, Joey Gase and Quin Houff

Positions 37-40:  Daniel Suarez,  Timmy Hill, Josh Bilicki and BJ McLeod

Denny Hamlin is optimistic about Kyle Larson returning to NASCAR

As for the next race in the NASCAR Cup Series at Darlington on May 20, the finishing position of the race at May 17 will be used as the basis of two inversions. There will be an inversion in the lineup for the May 20 between the top 20 finishers in the May 17 race. Likewise, there will be an inversion for the drivers finishing in the bottom 21st-40th positions. 

Charter team owner points will determine the pit-stall selection for the first race and the finishing order of the first race will determine the pit selection for the second race. 

A modified competition caution was released by NASCAR which, as per the official website, are as follows:

  • Freezing the running order at the time of the caution period
  • Granting the free pass for the first car one lap down
  • No wave-around rule will be in effect for the competition caution
  • Pit road opens to the top 20, then the next 20 on the following lap
  • Each car will keep its position at the time of the caution, provided it beats the pace car off pit road
  • The pit cycle repeats, with the top 20 then next 20 allowed to pit a second time
  • Teams that do not beat the pace car off pit road will lose a lap and restart at the tail of the field; teams that pit more than twice or outside of their designated pit window will also restart at the tail of the field.
  • The lineup will be reset according to the frozen running order for the restart


Share Via

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *